Coconut Macaroons – a New Easter Tradition

The other day, my 8-year-old son decided he wanted me to buy Coconut Macaroons.  I was surprised because no one in my family has ever really expressed a liking for coconut.  I have always LOVED coconut except for candy bars with coconut in them….blick.

Do you know how much Coconut Macaroons cost?

AND, I figured out later, although I was getting them from the Sprout’s Bakery, they had artificial flavoring.  My kids have reactions to those petro-chemicals, so, I thought….someday, I’ll find a recipe and see if I can make my own.

Lo and behold, as I’m looking for a completely different recipe, I ran across one for Coconut Macaroons just this morning, had all the ingredients and whipped up 2 1/2 dozen.  I think we’ll have to make these an Easter tradition….if they last until tomorrow!

Coconut Macaroons (from Recipes and Remembrances, a cookbook from the First Presbyterian Church of Kearney, NE ~Joy Pallett)

1/2 C. Egg Whites (approximately 2)1/4 tsp. Salt

1 1/4 C.Sugar

1/2 tsp. Vanilla (I only ever use pure vanilla extract)

2 1/2 C. Shredded Coconut (I get mine in the bulk aisle at Whole Foods)

  1. Beat egg whites and salt until soft peaks form.
  2. Gradually add sugar and beat until still peaks form.
  3. Fold in vanilla and coconut.
  4. Drop by teaspoon 2 inches apart on a cookie sheet covered with plain paper. (I used the smallest scoop of my 3-scoop set and all-natural parchment paper)
  5. Bake in a slow oven (325 degrees) for 20 minutes.
  6. Cool slightly before removing from pan.

Makes 2 1/2 dozen.  (And it did – exactly 30)

Happy Easter!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Vickie says:

    “Sounds really really YUMMY!!! May just have to try it!

Leave a Reply

